Friday Fictioneers – The Lighthouse

The Lighthouse

Sam rubbed his tired eyes and focussed on the blinking light. All was calm but winds from the dark ocean were starting to gain strength and rumbles from the sky spoke of a storm. He looked down at the net lying on deck and his heavy heart sank. Three days and only a few fish to show for it.  His skin was grainy from the salty air. He craved a shower and a cold beer. The beacon was getting brighter as the winds pushed his drifting boat towards the land.  Sam submitted to defeat and allowed his mind to think of Amy. She would be waiting and tonight, he could do with some comfort.

***

Here is my Friday Fictioneers. This picture instantly reminded me of a lighthouse. I have never actually been inside one but the spiralling staircase made me think of that. So loosely based on that interpretation  I came up with my story. I have been working on my short stories and editing and not really blogged in a while or taken part in this weekly tradition. Better late than never.

If you want to take part, head over to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields and have a go.

 

24 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – The Lighthouse

    • EmmaMc says:

      Ah thanks Janet! I think we all feel like he does at some point. Be it failing at fishing or feeling despondent after looking at your bank balance.

    • EmmaMc says:

      It was the spiraling staircase that gave it away so I made the call and went with it. Glad you liked it and thank you for popping over.

  1. JKBradley says:

    I do hope Amy is waiting. In my mind Amy might be dead and the drifting boat will soon be blown upon the rocks, or perhaps Amy wasn’t expecting him back so soon and is preoccupied in another lover’s arms, or maybe this fisherman is the other lover. Great job with your story.

  2. Sandra says:

    Well done for correctly spotting that it was indeed a lighthouse photo. That never occurred to me. Nice piece, if I were him I’d forget the fish and go for the beer and Amy. Seriously. I enjoyed this.

    • EmmaMc says:

      That’s a good plan Sandra. A beer and maybe they can even share some fish and chips on the beach. Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

