Friday Fictioneers – Night Nurse

I haven’t taken part in Friday Fictioneers in over a month which I was a little shocked by. I’m a little bit out of the rhythm of writing fiction so this took me a little while to think up and doesn’t make an obvious reference to the picture. However I have drawn from a tale my aunt told me about when she was trekking in the Himilayas and came across a little hut. I know it could be better, so I’m calling this a draft until I feel more inspired to do better.

Thank you Madison Woods once again for an evocative picture. If you want to take part in Friday Fictioneers then head over here

https://i2.wp.com/www.madison-woods.com/Wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/Photo-by-Piya-Singh-Bittercharm-6.jpg

Night Nurse

The fever lasted five days. It started off with chills running through my bones and a lightning bolt ricocheting in my skull.  When the sickness took my body prisoner I could walk no further and lay by the river to sleep. When I woke an old man was gently patting my brow, I could feel his sandpaper hands brush against my skin reminding me that I was still present, still breathing.

I blinked away the bright light coming through the gaps in the stone wall, but his distorted face offered no detail.  ‘Shh’ he said, so I went to sleep.

21 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Night Nurse

    • EmmaMc says:

      Thank you for commenting and glad you liked it. With the title, I had that song in my head! It doesn’t really make any sense except for the nurse part.

Leave a Reply

