His Father’s Words – Michael McCarthy

My husband has been quite taken with the idea of flash fiction of late. He often comes up with some wonderful story lines but never puts them down on paper. Today he has decided to give it a go, bearing in mind he has never written a short story or flash fiction, I think this is pretty damn good. Please let me know what you think.

His Father’s Words

By Michael McCarthy

As the crashing water subsided, a boy emerged from the whiteness that had engulfed him. His hair was soaked and he wiped it from his eyes, taking in what he had accomplished. He had wandered far and was weary from the toil. His feet were sore from his boots, still not broken in, and his aching shoulders bared the marks of his satchel’s heavy load. Father always said the most satisfying rest was after of a hard days labour and he hadn’t lied. As the boy lay there in his porcelain tub, he knew that Monday’s round would be easier.

(100 words)

2 thoughts on “His Father’s Words – Michael McCarthy

  1. maturestudenthanginginthere says:

    I think this is a strong piece full of lovely images. Best bit, it makes me want to read more. It’s very tough to put words up there and invite folk to comment. 10/10 for being brave enough to do that. You left me wanting to know more about the boy, what he’s doing, where he’s going… but hey that’s flash fiction for you. Thank you for sharing this.

  2. EmmaMc says:

    Thank you very much, and I have passed on the message. I’m so pleased he has decided to write. He always has such lovely, simple plot lines but never sits down to write them. I’m impressed he was brave enough to let me to put it up here! It took me years to show anything to anyone!

Leave a Reply

