#Friday Fictioneers – End of the Rainbow

A little late in the day yet again! Thank Madison Woods for the photo.

I couldn’t think about which way to go with this but  I liked this one over the horror version I had. If you fancy having a go, click here to view the picture and Madison’s 100 word story.

Madison Woods Friday Fictioneers

 

End of the Rainbow

Grass at her feet and a crown of daisies in her hair, Sophie watched the clouds part and felt the sun hit her face.

Rolling over she smiled at Deacon who was blowing smoke rings into the air. His sunglasses perched on the tip of nose, Sophie could see him watching her.

“So, we going to do this?”

Sophie wanted to say no. At seventeen she had so much to achieve and the whole world to see. But as much desire she had for her future, she longed for the precious life inside of her.

She rested her head on Deacon’s shoulder and sighed.

“My mum is going to kill me.”

30 thoughts on “#Friday Fictioneers – End of the Rainbow

    • EmmaMc says:

      I tried not to make it too ambiguous (my sister was complaining that a lot of my short stories are ambiguous!) either way though I’m really glad you liked it!

    • EmmaMc says:

      Wow thank you very much Derek. I’m trying to work on the details which carry the story a bit more so I’m glad you picked that bit out. I look forward to reading yours.

  1. Lora Mitchell says:

    Nice easy, flow to your story…with that predictable last line..which brought a smile to my face. Ah…that centuries old predicament. What to do? For me, the answer is in your title: End of the Rainbow. But nowadays…it doesn’t have to be the end. Nice work. Here’s mine:
    http://www.triplemoonstar.blogspot.com

    • EmmaMc says:

      Thank you Lora, indeed it doesn’t need to be at all. It’s a whole new adventure instead. I look forward to reading yours.

  2. dmmacilroy says:

    “You can’t be twenty on Sugar Mountain…”

    Wonderful tale told well. Your character’s thoughts and dialog rang true and the story was human as all get out. Home run this week.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  3. readinpleasure says:

    A tough decision to make; a situation that rings true for me if what they contemplate doing is what I’m thinking about. Young and innocent love, with not so innocent implications. Beautiful. And thanks for the lovely comment on mine.

    • EmmaMc says:

      It is a tough decision… and you’re right, innocent love with non innocent implications. Thank you so much for commenting.

    • EmmaMc says:

      Thank you very much Scott. I will definitely make time to go and have a look at yours, in fact I’ll head over there right now!

  4. sphrbn says:

    As much as I hate romace, (even though my friday fiction series has a bit in it) I like this. It’s kinda what happens to most teenagers at that age, or at least something they think about. I also like it cos Sophie is an awesome name, haha, no reason why.

  5. janpoulton says:

    I really enjoyed this take on the prompt. You convey the turmoil going on in Sophie’s head very skilfully. Teenage years are so full of hard choices and this story highlighted that so well. I haven’t written one this week but hope to join in next time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

