#Friday Fictioneers – Blindsighted

Thanks to a migraine I have had to rush this a little. Viewing the image on my phone I thought it was something completely different though I hope it still relates to the image. If you want to take part the image is at Madison Wood’s blog. Write 100 and post it back as a comment on her story.

Blindsighted

When I was twelve years old my eye sight disappeared. It didn’t happen overnight, from the age of ten all colours started to drain away then slowly the world became cocooned in tunnel vision. By the time I turned eleven the comforting faces of my parents were alien outlines surrounded in dim light.

For years I mourned for the vision that I lost. Accepting my new life was never easy and there were many nights I suffered heartache knowing that I would never be able to look into my wife’s eyes or see whether my son had inherited my large forehead.

Twenty years on I am lying in bed, listening to the bleeping machines and dizzy from the smell of antiseptic. I slowly open my eyes and there it is, a small ball of light, breaking through the darkness.

34 thoughts on “#Friday Fictioneers – Blindsighted

  1. littlewonder2 says:

    What a touching end to the story. It was so sad how he slowly lost his vision, and it really showed how it must be scary to gradually lose it like that.

    I’ve never known how one would lose their vision, so I wondered if this was really how; I’d never imagined it like this. But it must be, because I’ve heard of tunnel vision before (even though I never knew what it was).

    Great story! 😀

    http://littlewonder2.wordpress.com/2012/05/11/friday-fictioneers-the-night/

    • EmmaMc says:

      Thank you very much. I can only related a very tiny bit through the tunnel vision and when I lose my sight when I have a severe migraine… can’t imagine what it is like for anything longer than that. Inspired by someone who had their sight restored, inspired me!

    • EmmaMc says:

      I read that if you regain your sight after a significant amount of time then it can take your brain months to translate what you are viewing so you just see shapes and lights for a long time. Thank you for stopping by and commenting 🙂

    • EmmaMc says:

      Hi Doug

      I’m really sorry to hear that your sister in law suffers with macular degeneration. I too hope that for her and many others that one day they find a cure. Thank you for stopping by and commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

