Friday Fictioneers #4 Her Master

This is a little late as have had a busy day and only just managed to sit down. I have also managed to obtain a cold, so feeling rather rubbish. Anyway here is my Friday Fictioneers piece courtesy of Madison Woods. Brownie points to those who know what this was inspired by besides the photo prompt.

—-

The morning light plays with the tiny particles of dust as it pierces through the curtain break. It would almost look magical if I cared but instead I pull the bed covers above my head, unsure whether I have the strength to face another day. My husband wraps his arms around me and softly whispers ‘time to get up beautiful’ . I feel nothing. There is no desire left in me to wash, eat or dress. Feeling his presence in the room I open one eye, the dog is sat in the corner with his lead at his feet. Adjusting his posture and sticking out his chest, I can see that Charlie hopes that today will be the day but I am not so optimistic.

“Want me to walk him again?” asks my husband

“No it’s okay. I’m going to get up.”

17 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers #4 Her Master

    • EmmaMc says:

      Me neither! I think I’ll side with the dog and then the husband… but then the MC is pretty depressed so feel back for her as well.

    • EmmaMc says:

      Hi Cara thank you for dropping by and commenting. My other inspiration was Winston Churchill. He often referred to his depression as the ‘black dog’ and there was a book, I believe, written around this.

  1. Madison Woods says:

    Oh I’ve heard reference to the black dog before, but didn’t know it was Winston Churchill. Great story. You’re really good at expressing emotion.

Leave a Reply

