Writer Vs Clock (and everything else)

If you are an aspiring writer nearly everything is a distraction and you feel on the back foot most of the time. I know I do anyway. I am up at 6.30am everyday and don’t get back in the house usually until 6.30pm. I would say that the amount of time I spend out of the house is the same as most of us who work full time. However I am struggling to keep time aside to really get into my writing. Ideally I would like to put at least an hour a day to write some flash fiction but with cooking tea, cleaning, getting ready for work the next day the earliest I get to sit down is 10pm. By that time I am shattered and need my beauty sleep. It is about 11pm at the moment and I am flagging. I would like to sit down right now and submit myself to a story but I have to be up in less than eight hours.

Today I read a guest post on Madison Wood’s blog by Mike Resnick and it really inspired me. He discussed how he managed to write for at least two hours a day and that in the end his problem wasn’t writing but the fact his publisher had to keep up with the sheer volume of work that he was producing. It got me thinking in that although my brain is always ticking over with ideas and plot lines it is the fact that I always seem to be lacking in time to get them down and turn them into stories.  I adore writing. I love the whole process from when an idea gets stuck in your head to completing a slice of fiction be it thirty words or three-thousand. I love the feel of the pen to paper or fingers to keyboard and how you are in charge of creating another world with no rules.

One of the many reasons I keep this blog is to make sure that I allow myself the time to write, not give myself a hard time if I have a slow week and reflect on what I have already produced. Sometimes I worry I am just writing to keep my blog updated. In one respect this is great because it gives me another brilliant reason to write regularly, gain feedback and therefore improve. On the other hand I am anxious that I am not giving my rewrites and other stories the chance to progress.

I genuinely enjoy hearing about how other budding authors not only fit their writing around a full time job but use the time they have effectively to achieve what they set out to do.  Is writing when you can enough? Do you need a working schedule to keep you on track with your ambitions or have you already achieved the dream of being able to write full time?

I am serious about becoming a full time writer but I do feel like I am feeling around in the dark sometimes. I suppose all of this comes in time and I need to be patient and let myself become a writer naturally. Or maybe it’s time to put together a writing schedule or a plan of action and hammer it Mike Resnik style?

8 thoughts on “Writer Vs Clock (and everything else)

  1. Capri Montgomery says:

    I used to write on my lunch breaks at work. I was working full time and going to school full time at night so breaks during the day and in between both work and school allowed me to get some writing in. I hope you can find a way to get some writing into your daily life, it doesn’t have to be an hour. Fifteen minutes can go a long way over time.

    • EmmaMc says:

      Wow you really were short of time. I sometimes write on my lunch break if the office is quiet but I only get 30 minutes so it doesn’t give me a huge amount of time. Although I think maybe I expect too much from myself and like you say, fifteen minutes can amount to a lot over time. Thank you for commenting.

  2. Victoria-writes says:

    Great post. It’s so hard to write and work full time. Like you right now I’m out of the house 12 hours and I only really write on the weekend = no social life. As you know, I’m leaving my full time job to focus on writing as I want to do what I love. But that isn’t possible for everyone so I’d suggest setting time aside to write but don’t stress out too much, don’t lose your love for it!

    • EmmaMc says:

      Thank you Victoria. It is very difficult and I know what you mean about lack of social life! However I have taken a less demanding job so my entire brain isn’t used up by the end of the day which I admit has helped. You’re right though, I shouldn’t stress and just keep enjoying it (which I do, but think it’s just frustration that I don’t have the time I need to do a good job of it)

Leave a Reply

