#Friday Fictioneers The Hunter

I have never done this before but came across it on another blog and thought I would give it a go. A visual prompt from Madison Woods to inspire your 100-word story.

—-

Samsun had been walking for months. Winter had been harsh and the blizzard had made foraging impossible. He kept moving south to locate the food from the autumn hunt, still preserved in ice.Β  He followed his nose towards the spot where he had left his feast and despaired as the ground turned from white to grey. The landscape below his paws felt dry and his home was now a new world. Samsun walked past the once frozen lake thawing for the first time in his memory. At the spot where he should have found his salvation, only bones and dust remained.

33 thoughts on “#Friday Fictioneers The Hunter

    • EmmaMc says:

      I find it strangely liberating! Sometime I get caught up in writing so much that I don’t know where the story is going so I find that being limited to 100 words helps me make sure I stick to forming a mini plot.

    • EmmaMc says:

      Thank you! I wanted to try writing a short story by humanising an animal but was really stuck and this picture inspired a few thoughts. Especially as I have been watching a fair few nature documentaries recently.

  1. maturestudenthanginginthere says:

    Oh I love this idea. I might try and give it a go next weekend for my ‘Something for the Weekend’. Maybe I’m to chatty a person to limit myself to 100 words but it would be a great experiment to try. Loved this piece.

    • EmmaMc says:

      Hi Janet and thank you. I won’t tell you what I had in mind as I like to leave that to be something the reader interprets (though you will probably guess from some of my replies to comments) πŸ™‚

  2. Craig Towsley says:

    Yeah neat POV for sure. I got a little hung up on this sentence though “He followed his nose towards the spot where he had left his feast” Maybe one “he” too many?
    The discouragement really shines through, though, so good job/

    • EmmaMc says:

      That’s exactly what I was thinking of so I’m really pleased that’s what you saw. I have been watching a lot of nature documentaries and a lot of them have been focusing on how the global warming is affecting the animals in the Arctic. The landscape is changing so dramatically and where they usually migrate to/from is no longer suitable for their survival.

  3. caprimontgomery says:

    The shorter the story the harder it is to write and convey the setting enough for the reader to understand what’s going on. This is very cool. I love it. Maybe I’ll be brave enough to try it someday too.

      • caprimontgomery says:

        Oh yes, that is a challenge. Short stories in general are difficult once you get used to spreading out your words, but this is definitely going to be hard. 100 words…I don’t know if I can do it…but maybe I’ll try it out one day and see.

    • EmmaMc says:

      It is indeed and hoped people would interpret it that way. I may write in a cheeky burger bar for hungry Samsun, feel guilty for giving him a hard time.

  4. Madison Woods says:

    Poor Samsun. I felt so bad for him only finding bones where he once had found salvation. Thanks for joining us, that was a moving story.

Leave a Reply

