Four Legged Friend

Today I say goodbye to the most wonderful friend anyone could ask for. I spent three years living with the in-laws and the fifth member of the family was always there to make me smile after difficult days, was always up for a natter and a cuddle and had the happiest smile whenever he saw you. Unfortunately he became very poorly and it wasn’t fair on him. I can’t tell you how much I will miss him and as I never grew up around dogs I was in all honesty surprised at how upset I felt knowing that he will no longer be around.

I wanted to write something to honour what he meant to the family however I couldn’t get this song out of my head. Roy Rogers sang this in Son of Paleface about his horse Trigger and I loved it then but it seems so poignant now.

Big hugs Jacky boy, have fun chasing squirrels and rabbits in doggy heaven xxx

A four legged friend, a four legged friend
He’ll never let you down
He’s honest and faithful right up to the end
That wonderful one-two-three-four legged friend

Who carries your burden, who carries your load
On tumbleweed land or a long dusty road
Who asks you no questions, who tells you no lies
That four legged friend with the two honest eyes

A four legged friend, a four legged friend
He’ll never let you down
He’s honest and faithful right up to the end
That wonderful four legged friend

That wonderful one-two-three-four legged friend

20120222-141914.jpg

7 thoughts on “Four Legged Friend

  1. andyo1976 says:

    Those eye’s say it all. dog’s are very good judges of people. He obviously liked you, probably more than you think. Things will seem empty for now, rest assured he will be sniffing around close by! I will be honest, it is easier for me to say goodbye to human’s than to say the last goodbye to my dog’s. Time heals and there is not a day when I don’t think of my dog’s gone! I have an eleven year Jack Russell now, probably not too long a time, in years left in him. He is a pain, he is my mate, he is a git but I will always love him. He got you, didn’t he, he was meant too!

  2. thingsmybellylikes says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. I’ve an old dog myself and, before him, never owned an animal.

    I had no idea just how much of an impact they could have on your life (and your heart). It’ll be heartbreaking to say goodbye.

    P.S He was a beautiful dog – that fuzzy face is adorable

    • EmmaMc says:

      Thank you, he was gorgeous! He was just so soppy and fuzzy. This is my favourite picture of him as captures his personality perfectly.

  3. tollykit says:

    So sorry for your loss Emma. Animals are wonderful members of the family. They accept you for who you are and their love is unconditional. Take the time to grieve but also take joy in remembering all the good times you had together.

  4. maturestudenthanginginthere says:

    This is a wonderful tribute you’ve written here. It never ceases to amaze me how much the animals we love touch our lives and our hearts.

Leave a Reply

