Getting in the mood

I don’t know about you but music tends to inspire me when I have a solid bout of writers block. Johnny Cash is particulary effective when I’m in this predicament. Sometimes when I need to write something in a certain way I occasionally need to feel in that mood. For example sometimes I need to just feel melancholy which is hard if I feel pretty upbeat. On these occasions Johnny Cash just fits the bill perfectly. I don’t want angst, I need something real and heart-felt. Thing is with Cash, even if he hasn’t written the lyrics he always sang the words as if he had lived each and every one of them. I never particularly liked U2 but Cash’s famed version of One is just superb.

‘Nobody’ is the song that evokes several feelings of melancholy, creativity and humour. The dry-wit lyrics originally by Alex Rogers and Cash’s half spoken-singing style helps me picture the character I’m creating and form part of their personality.

Above all, Cash is a brilliant story teller and I feel like I can learn a lot from the lyrics when composing a short story. Bob Dylan and Jarvis Cocker also fall into the great story-teller, song-writer bracket.

I could go on forever about this subject, so instead I will leave you with the lyrics that have made me want to go and put pen to paper.

Nobody

When life seems full
Of clouds and rain
And I’m full
Of nothin’ but pain
Who soothes my thumpin’, bumpin’ brain?
Nobody

When Wintertime comes
With its snow and sleet
And me with hunger
And cold feet
Who says “Here’s two bits, go and eat”?
Nobody

Well, I ain’t never done nothin’ to nobody
I ain’t never got nothin’ from nobody, no time
And until I get something from somebody, sometime
I don’t intend to do nothin’ for nobody, no time

When Summertime comes
All warm and clear
And my friends see me
Drawin’ near
Who says “come on in and have a beer”?
Nobody

Well one time when things was
Lookin’ bright
I started to whittlin’ on a stick one night
Who said “Hey! That’s dynamite!”?
Nobody

Mmmm, I ain’t never done nothin’ to nobody
I ain’t never got nothin’ from nobody, no time
And until I get something from somebody, sometime
I don’t intend to do nothin’ for nobody, no time

I ain’t never done nothin’ to nobody
I ain’t never got nothin’ from nobody, no time
And until I get something from somebody, sometime
I don’t intend to do nothin’ for nobody, no time

One thought on “Getting in the mood

Leave a Reply

